Rutherford Scholars Award



Eligibility Criteria

The top ten students, as determined on the first writing of Diploma Examinations, are recognized as Rutherford Scholars.

Application Process

Recipients are selected from applications for an Alexander Rutherford Scholarship. A separate application is not required.

Selection Process

Recipients are selected based on the first writing of Diploma Examinations from qualifying subjects. Qualifying subjects are:

One of: 

  • English Language Arts 30-1, 30-2, or
  • Français 30-1


  • Social Studies 30-1 or 30-2

Plus any three other subjects:

  • Mathematics 30-1, or 30-2
  • French Language Arts 10-1
  • Biology 30
  • Chemistry 30
  • Physics 30
  • Science 30
Many other scholarships and awards are offered by other organizations – we encourage you to visit Alberta’s public university and college websites to research the scholarships that they offer.

For more information, see Alberta post-secondary institutions.