The goal of this bursary is to assist First Nations, Métis and Inuit students to obtain the skills and knowledge to enter or re-enter the workforce in northern Alberta.


The First Nations, Métis and Inuit (FNMI) NADC Bursary is a return service bursary of varying amounts:

  • Student in pre-apprenticeship training, or in a certificate or diploma studies can access up to $6,000 for their studies.

  • Students in a Bachelor’s, Masters’ or PhD program can access $10,000 per year for any year of their studies. 

In addition to the base bursary amount of $6,000 and $10,000 students may qualify for additional funding based on financial need to assist with their schooling cost.

Eligibility Criteria

You may receive a First Nations, Métis and Inuit NADC Bursary if you:

  • Are 18 years of age or older
  • Have been a resident of Alberta for 12 consecutive months before the start of your program
  • Are enrolled fulltime in a post-secondary program that is designated for provincial funding
  • In a program that is at least 12 weeks in length
  • Are not in default of a provincial student loan
  • Can provide proof of Indigenous (see application for more detail)

Application Process

To apply for this bursary, visit:

You may also obtain an application through your local post-secondary school, local Alberta Native Friendship Center, Rupertsland Institute or your local Alberta Income Supports office. 

Mail your completed original application to:

NADC Bursary Program
Room 206, 9621 – 96 Avenue
Bag 900-14
Peace River, AB  T8S 1T4

Faxed or emailed applications will NOT be accepted.

Selection Process

The FNMI NADC bursary program provides funding for students in the form of a non-repayable bursary if you agree to live and work in the north for one year in return for each year of bursary support received.

Many other scholarships and awards are offered by other organizations – and we encourage you to visit Alberta’s public university and college websites to research the scholarships that they offer.

For more information, see Alberta post-secondary institutions.