Alberta Scholarships

Scholarships and awards in this listing are offered by the Government of Alberta and administered by Alberta Student Aid.

Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship

To commemorate the Queen’s visit to Alberta in May 2005, one award is provided annually to recognize the outstanding achievements of students pursuing graduate studies in Alberta.


  • Master’s Award value:  up to $10,800 per year
  • Doctoral Award value: up to $15,000 per year

Eligibility Criteria:

Open to Canadian citizens or Permanent Residents living in Alberta.

Applicants must be enrolled in full-time studies at one of the following post-secondary institutions:

  • Athabasca University
  • Concordia University of Edmonton
  • University of Alberta
  • University of Calgary
  • University of Lethbridge

Application Process:

  • Total number of awards will vary at each university.
  • Application deadline may vary at each university. Applicants must contact their university for further information.

Selection Process:

Applicants are selected through a competitive process whereby each application is adjudicated by a review committee at that university.

Many other scholarships and awards are offered by other organizations – and we encourage you to visit Alberta’s university and college websites to research the scholarships that they offer. For a listing of Alberta’s public post-secondary institutions, visit: